Skip to main content

Dominican University of California Archives: Collections

UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES

Archives or Archival Repositories can hold both published and unpublished materials, and those materials can be in any format.

Archives are often unique, specialized, rare, or one of a kind records and objects (non-circulating).

Examples include: manuscripts, letters, photographs, moving image and sound materials, artwork, books, diaries, artifacts, and the digital equivalents of all of these things.


Dominican University of California Archives collects records related to the history and culture of the university that have long-term, indefinite administrative, legal, fiscal or historical value. We collect records of faculty, staff, administrators, students, and alumni as well as records produced by university departments

 These records include:

  • Records of campus offices, including academic, administrative, and library offices
  • Professional and personal papers of the Dominican Sisters of San Rafael affiliated with University activities
  • Professional and personal papers of select Dominican University Faculty that document the history and operation of the University
  • Manuscripts and donated records of Dominican University Alumni
  • Meeting Notes of the Board of Trustees
  • Publications produced on campus, both monographic and serial, such as newspapers, yearbooks, directories, reports, and newsletters
  • Photographs, negatives, slides, films, and video
  • Graduate and Senior Theses completed by Dominican University of California students
  • Maps, drawings, blueprints and other architectural drawings, prints, and posters
  • Ephemera and artifacts where appropriate

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

Special Collections contain materials from individuals, families, and organizations deemed to have significant historical value. For this reason special collections are stored separately from the regular library collections (non-circulating).

Special Collections are created to benefit scholars by grouping related materials together in a particular subject area.

Examples include: early printed works, musical documents, or history of Marin County materials.


Dominican University maintains special collections in early printed works, history of California, and the Ansel Adams Collection of campus and artistic prints and letters. 

 

 

DOMINICAN SCHOLAR

Dominican Scholar is the university's online repository. It showcases the scholarly and creative works of Dominican University's students, faculty, and staff.

The University Archives has a collection in Dominican Scholar, and as more materials become available online, this collection will continue to grow.

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License