The Dominican University of California Archives exists to identify, preserve, and make accessible historically significant records in a variety of formats that reflect the unique culture of the University and support administration, teaching, research, and community service.
Its scope includes records created or received by the University, its students, faculty, staff, alumni, administration, and greater community.
Archives, or Archival Repositories, can hold both published and unpublished materials in any format. These materials are often unique, specialized, rare, or one of a kind records and objects (non-circulating).
Dominican University of California Archives collects records related to the history and culture of the university that have long-term, indefinite administrative, legal, fiscal or historical value. We collect records of faculty, staff, administrators, students, and alumni as well as records produced by university departments
These records include:
Materials in the Archives are available to Dominican University faculty, staff, students as well as to alumni and public researchers. Archives and Special Collections materials do not circulate and are to be used only in the designated research area. To access the collection, please contact the Archivist.
Access to the Archives is by appointment only.
Requesting and examining materials or making copies does not constitute authorization to publish. A separate written request to publish must be sent to the Archivist.
In all cases publication or display of archival materials must be credited as, Dominican University of California Archives, Photograph Collection or Dominican University of California Archives, Publications etc. based on the collection being used.
For citations in published or unpublished papers, the Archives & Special Collections repository should be cited as, Dominican University of California Archives, San Rafael, CA.