Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Working in the Archives

A comprehensive compilation of informational research giving directions on how to handle, process, and move forward with archival work at Dominican University of California.

Welcome to the Dominican University Archives Internship!

Welcome!

Our mission is to identify, preserve, and make accessible historically significant records in a variety of formats that reflect the unique culture of the University and support administration, teaching, research, and service.

As an intern with the Dominican University Archives, you will get the chance to help preserve what it means to be a Dominican penguin and then help prepare it of research and public access!

What is an Archives Internship?

Working with the Dominican University of California Archives is largely a student-led experience. While we have curated assignments and projects for students to work on in order to introduce them to a university archive, we encourage students to find aspects of archives work that interest them and support them in pursuing projects surrounding those aspects.

As an intern, you will:

  • Get hands-on museum experience

  • Help decipher photographs

  • Expand your visual literacy skills

  • Gain firsthand experience in digitization efforts

  • Improve virtual access to the Dominican University of California Archives

What is an Archive?

Archives, or Archival Repositories, can hold both published and unpublished materials in any format. These materials are often unique, specialized, rare, or one of a kind records and objects (non-circulating).

Dominican University of California Archives collects records related to the history and culture of the university that have long-term, indefinite administrative, legal, fiscal or historical value. We collect records of faculty, staff, administrators, students, and alumni as well as records produced by university departments

 These records include:

  • Records of campus offices, including academic, administrative, and library offices
  • Professional and personal papers of the Dominican Sisters of San Rafael and of select Dominican University Faculty
  • Manuscripts and donated records of Dominican University Alumni
  • Publications produced on campus such as newspapers, yearbooks, directories, reports, and newsletters
  • Photographs, negatives, slides, films, and video
  • Maps, drawings, blueprints and other architectural drawings, prints, and posters

Dominican University of California Rare Books Collection

Sample Objects from the Dominican University of California Archives

Dominican University of California Social Media Screenshot

Student Worker in Archives

Etel Adnan tapestry, from the Dominican University of California Archives, on display at the San Francisco MOMA

Dominican College yearbooks

Archbishop Alemany Library Facebook page

Researcher handling an image of Meadowlands

"A History of the College" article found in the Carillon, a student publication found in the Dominican University archives

Former Dominican Archivist, Annie Ried, with MOMA curatorial staff at Atel Adnan exhibit

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License