Skip to Main Content

Tutorial: RefWorks

Adding References to RefWorks

To add an item to RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon  at the top of the page. If you plan on adding the item to an existing collection, click on the collection first, then click the Add a reference icon .

You'll have three options:

  1. Upload document
  2. Import references
  3. Create new reference

 

You can drag and drop a document (.pdf, .doc, etc.) directly into the Upload document box to upload an existing MS Office, Open Office or .pdf file from your computer. Only 1 document per item allowed. 

From the second option, you can also import a set of references from a text file in the formats offered. On the resulting page, you will able to click and drag the file onto the page to begin importing.

Using Create new reference you can manually enter your bibliographic data or click and drag a file to be imported as well.

 

Tip:  If you have multiple documents to add to RefWorks, you can select and drag them all at once. RefWorks will create separate items for each.

 

Regardless of which option you choose, RefWorks uses its document recognition feature to attempt to auto-complete the reference fields on the page. You can change the reference type, manually edit the reference fields and additional fields can be added using the Add more fields drop down box at the bottom of the page. 

If you do not have a file to upload, simply populate the blank fields by typing in the necessary information.

Once you have manually added your item using one of these options, click Save and your item will be added to your RefWorks library.

You can add references to RefWorks directly from the Library's databases. Each database has slightly different wording but look for options to:

  • Cite
  • Export
  • Cite and Export
  • Export Citations

These options can usually be found at the article level (i.e. from your search results open an article and look for one of these or a similar option). There will be more on this topic soon. Below are some examples from some our resources.

  1. Do a search in the library's book catalog, once you find a book, click on the title.
  2. From the top of the screen choose Cite/Export
  3. From the bottom of the window that opens up choose Export to RefWorks

RefWorks has an easy to use tool that installs in any web browser called the Save to RefWorks button.  The Save to RefWorks button grabs information from any web page – in some cases a complete article – and adds it to your RefWorks library. 

To add the Save to RefWorks button to your browser, click on the More icon  and select Tools.   Simply drag the Save to RefWorks button to your browser.  Once you’ve installed it, go to any web page and click the Save to RefWorks button to capture the information.

You can save a set of search results or an individual article - the choice is yours.  You can easily edit metadata prior to importing into RefWorks.

RefWorks makes it really easy to get documents from your computer – just drag and drop one or more files and RefWorks will do the rest!

If you want to add your documents to a specific collection, make sure you’re viewing the collection first, then drag and drop the file(s). If you’re dragging multiple files, RefWorks will create a separate item for each document. Otherwise, drag and drop documents in the All Documents view and you can file them in collections once they are uploaded.

If you’re not sure where the file is on your computer, you can also click the Add a reference icon , then click Import reference option and then use the box for drag and drop, or, to browse and search your computer.  

Note: This option allows you to upload only one document at a time.

Regardless of how you add your documents, RefWorks will try to recognize and populate the reference information using our document authority.  RefWorks will present you with possible matches which you can select to populate the reference fields.

If no reference information is provided, you can manually enter the information.  Make sure to click the Save button to save the reference information.

Biological Abstracts to RefWorks

  1. From your search results in Web of Science choose the items you want to export to RefWorks
  2. From the Export button at the top of the page, select Other File Formats
  3. Choose File Format > Plain Text A .txt file should download
  4. Login to your RefWorks account
  5. Choose Add a Reference > Import References
  6. Drag and drop the .txt file over to the import screen
  7. Choose Thompson Reuters > Web of Science
  8. Click on the Import button and you should be good to go.

 

eBook Central

  1. Choose a book on eBook Central and open it up
  2. Choose Cite Book (located on the left side of  your screen)
  3. Select RefWorks

Google Scholar

RefWorks is integrated with Google Scholar but you have to add turn on the option to show it.

  1. Go to Google Scholar
  2. Open the Menu (3 horizontal bars) located in the upper left corner of the screen
  3. Choose Settings
  4. Choose Bibliography Manager > RefWorks 
  5. Save

Now in your Google Scholar search results you'll see the option to export citations to RefWorks

Import to RefWorks

PubMed to RefWorks

  1. Conduct your search in PubMed.
  2. From the search results choose Cite (to the left of the article title) > Download .nbib. A text file will download to your computer
  3. Open your RefWorks account
  4. Choose Add > Import References
  5. Drag and Drop your text file and import

SciFinder to RefWorks

If you have multiple items in SciFinder that you want to export to RefWorks;

In SciFinder

1. From your search results page, check the items you wish to export to RefWorks

2. Click on Export

 

 

3. From the Export Menu choose: Citation export format (*.ris)

4.  Login to your RefWorks account

5. From the RefWorks menu choose Add a Reference > Import References

6. Drag and drop the file downloaded from SciFinder into RefWorks

7. From the RefWorks Import menu set your RIS Format to RIS Format

8. Click on Import

9. You should see that your citation has been uploaded to RefWorks