Skip to Main Content

Tutorial: RefWorks

Creating Bibliographies

Sometimes you just need to create a bibliography to share, with classmates or your instructor, or you just want to copy and paste a bibliography to the end of a document after you've added in the in-text citations. You can easily create a bibliography from:

  • The list of All Documents
  • Any folder that you've created
  • Your the search results from within RefWorks

Creating Your Bibliography

  1. Navigate to the RefWorks folder that you want to use for your bibliography
  2. Click the Create bibliography icon  located in the menu at the top of your screen (Figure 1)
  3. From the menu choose Create bibliography 
  4. Choose the bibliography style from the menu at the top of your screen (Figure 2)

 

Figure 1 Opening up the bibliography menu

Create Bibliography in RefWorks Menu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Figure 2 Choosing your bibliography's style

choosing output style for bibliographies in RefWorks

 

The latest version of RefWorks is really easy to use with Google Docs

1. Get the Add-on

In Google Docs you can add-on 3rd party tools, like RefWorks

  1. Open a document in Google Drive
  2. From the menu at the top of the screen, choose Add-ons > Get Add-ons
  3. Search for ProQuest RefWorks and add it by clicking the blue +Free button

2. Opening RefWorks in Google Docs

  1. From your document menu choose Add-ons > ProQuest RefWorks > Manage Citations
  2. A RefWorks login window will show at the right side of your screen
  3. Login using your RefWorks credentials

3. Adding a Reference

  1. Place your cursor where you want the in-text reference to show
  2. From the RefWorks menu on the right side of your screen, mouse over the reference that you want to cite and click Cite This
  3. Your in-text citation will be added in and a reference list, with the full citation, will begin at the end of your document.