Global Public Health Research Guide: Medical Reference

Black's Medical Dictionary has been the best-selling medical dictionary for over 100 years. It is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professsionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.

A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are unique individuals.

An interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease.

Contains entries on the theory and practice of medicine, including pharmacology, virology, psychiatry and dentistry. Also includes terminology relevant to nursing, radiography, orthoptics, laboratory and operating theatre technology, forensic and social medicine, and public health administration.

Well-organized monographs on hundreds of generic and thousands of trade name drugs, with a focus on nursing practice and usability. Provides comprehensive coverage of all populations across the entire lifespan, and all of the guidance needed to administer medications competently and safely.

This dictionary provides the user with the basic vocabulary currently being used in a wide range of healthcare situations. The areas covered include the technical language used in diagnosis, patient care, surgery, pathology, general practice and other specializations, as well as anatomical and physiological terms.

Describes the cultural practices relevant to health in the world's cultures and provides an overview of important topics in medical anthropology.

A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.

Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.

Nearly 900 alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment.

Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.

Comprises concise, informative entries on all the most important terms in toxicology. Coverage includes biochemical and environmental toxicology, chemical carcinogenesis, risk assessment and risk management as well as those aspects of analytical chemistry and molecular biology that are of importance in toxicology. The most important toxic chemicals are covered, in most cases with structures and CAS numbers.

This A to Z reference is a definitive resource, praised especially for its coverage of topics not previously considered under the umbrella of women's health.

Provides comprehensive information on all aspects of health and disease ranging from how the body functions to when to consult your GP to what type of drug you have been prescribed.

A vital companion for all users of medicine, whether parents buying for babies and children, anyone wanting more information on a doctor's prescription, or those who need to find a remedy for occasional ailments. Contains up-to-date descriptions of prescription and over-the-counter drugs.