Skip to Main Content

Dance 3001: Dance and Spiritual Expression (Gay Lynch)

Some Books in the Library's Collection

The following materials are available in our circulating collection. 

They represent only a small portion of the titles in our collection related to this course, so please explore the catalog in greater depth by using keyword and subject searches.

Finding Books in the Library

  • Use the Library Catalog to search for books or videos in the library including ebooks. Use the Subject or Keyword search if you don't have a particular title or author in mind.
  • Use eBook Central  and ebooks on EBSCO to search exclusively for ebooks in our ebook collections . Enter your login and password when prompted.
  • The Core Reference collection which contains facts, statistics, short biographies, and general information to get you started with your research is located on the first floor and is non-circulating. 
  • The General collection, located on the second floor, contains in-depth information and is circulating. Subject specific reference material is also located on the second floor within the General collection but is for library use only.
  • Books in the Library are arranged by call number. The call number is located on the spine of the book and is unique to each book, like an address. Call numbers are organized alphabetically by subject matter and then numerically (i.e. HN90.M3 G72 2002 which denotes the subjects: Mass media -- Social aspects -- United States.).
  • For a list of subjects check out the Classification Outline by the Library of Congress.
Sidenote: eBooks
We often get the question: "My instructor told me to use a book.  Can I use an eBook? Does that still count?"  Yes it does!  eBooks are still books, they've just in another format. You'll find eBooks right alongside print books in our online catalog, so go ahead and use them.

Slides:

Library of Congress Classification System

AlemanyLibrary. (ND). Books: Library of Congress call numbers [PowerPoint slides]. Retrieved from http://www.slideshare.net

Library of Congress Subject Headings

When searching Dominican's online catalog and WorldCat for books try using Library of Congress Subject Headings.  

Subject headings will do much of your work for you because titles that are related topically are classified under the same heading.

Finding titles relevant to your topic can also lead you to new subject headings you might not have thought of using before.  Play with the system in creative ways and it will work for you!

Example LC Subject Headings to try:

Dance -- Anthropological aspects

Dance -- Forlklore

Dance -- Religious aspects

Dance -- Research

Human beings -- Attitude and movement