Skip to Main Content

Graduate Thesis Style Guide: MFA in Creative Writing

Introduction to Formatting

Master’s Theses, Capstone Projects, and Culminating Projects

Because a manuscript or project is usually an objective, unbiased investigation based upon the author's scholarly work, it should be written in a formal scholarly manner appropriate to academic publications.  It is important to be consistent in matters of style, punctuation, headings, the use of capitalization, and the placement of figures and tables and their corresponding captions. The presentation of data should be clear and clutter-free, utilizing a legible font and size.

IMPORTANT! The Guidelines take precedence over other style guides or department handbooks and example theses provided to you by your instructor. If there seems to be a serious conflict, check with the Library and have your manuscript advisors do the same.

Manuscript front matter, margin, pagination, and document structure requirements are specified throughout this guide, and must be observed as stated, no matter what other guidelines dictate. Remaining format issues are governed by standard publication manuals and/or standards of publication in your discipline.

Required Order of Manuscript Pages

 
Page Page Number Page Notes
Title Page i Required. (Page number is not visible)
Copyright Statement ii Required.
Abstract iii Required.  (Less than one page)
Acknowledgements iv Optional. (Less than one page)
Table of Contents v Required.
List of Tables vi Required if any table appear in your paper
List of Figures vii Required if an images appear in your paper
List of Abbreviations viii Optional
The Body of Your Thesis 1 Required. 
Bibliography numbers continue Well formatted and using a formal citation style
Appendices numbers continue Appendix titles appear in your Table of Contents

Formatting of Your Manuscript

Page Size and Margins

  • The entire document is letter sized (8.5" x 11")
  • Portrait orientation
  • 1-inch margin on all sides (top, bottom, right, and left)
Pro Tip: If you have a large Table or Figure that needs more space you can change the page orientation for that Table or Figure into landscape orientation.

Type Style

  • Choose a font that is clear and business-like; avoid unusual or difficult to read fonts.  We recommend using standard fonts like Times New Roman, Calibri, or Arial.
  • Use 12 point font size. 

Line Spacing

  • Use double-spacing throughout your manuscript.
  • Blockquotes and bibliographies may be single-spaced

Page Numbers

  • Page numbers appear at the top right corner of each page

Running Heads

  • Do not use running heads in the final version of your manuscript

Paragraphs

  • Left aligned
  • Indent the first line of each paragraph 0.5”
  • When dividing paragraphs across pages, at least two lines of text should appear at the bottom of the page and at least two lines of text on the next page.
Block quotes
  • For quotations longer than 40 words in length (block quotes)
  • inset 0.5” from the left margin

Headings

Major Headings
  • Sections starting with a Major heading (Heading 1) should begin on a new page. Do not place a major heading in the middle of the page.
Subheadings
  • Subheadings within a chapter do not begin on a new page unless the preceding page is filled. 
  • Subheadings at the bottom of a page require at least two lines of text following the heading, otherwise the heading should be pushed to the next page.

Tables and Figures

  • Table and Figures should be referred to in the text of the document (e.g See Figure 1). If there is no reference or discussion of the table or figure don't include it.
  • Tables and figures should follow their first reference in the text within a page or two. If more clarity is provided by placing tables and figures in an appendix, this style is also acceptable.
  • All tables and figures in your paper must include a caption located either above or below the table or figure. Be consistent in placement.
  • Table and figure captions should appear in consecutive numerical order (e.g. Figure 1, Figure 2, Figure 3...) and in the order in which the tables and figures appear in the text
  • Tables and figures must fit within the margins of your paper.
  • All tables and figures, even if there is only one, must be listed in a List of Tables and/or a List of Figures located on separate pages following the Table of Contents. The List of Tables and the List of Figures should include a Table/Figure number along with descriptive text (usually a portion of the caption) and the page number on which it occurs.

Figures

  • Diagrams, drawings, graphs, charts, maps, photographs, or any other type of illustrations should be referred to in the manuscript as a Figure.
  • Figures may not appear on the title page or other introductory pages.
  • Figures should use word wrapping that is inline with the text.
  • Figures should include Alt Text

Tables

  • Tables are used for presenting sets of data. Tables should not be used to format text or images.
  • The first row of a table should be a header row that describes the information presented in each column
  • Each element of data in your table should be in it's own cell. One piece of data per table cell
  • Do not use screenshots of tables from other sources in your work. If you have an image of a table from another source, recreate the table natively in your document using your word processor

Large Tables and Figures

  • Large tables or figures can be placed on the page in landscape orientation
  • The top and bottom margins should be the same as on a regular page
NOTE: Google Docs does not have the ability to create captions that are accessible. You will need to use Microsoft Word to properly create captions.

Special Formatting

  • Title is bold-faced
  • Text is centered on the page

Additional Information

The title page has 3 sections:

  1. The title, byline, and author name: 
    • appears at the top of the page and has 3 lines (1st line) Title (2nd line) by (3rd line) author name(s)
  2. Fulfillment statement: 
    • centered vertically and horizontally on the page 
    • Use the following statement:
      A culminating [thesis or capstone project] submitted to the faculty of Dominican University of California in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of [degree name] in [major]
  3. Location and graduation date: 
    • has 3 lines (NOTE: do not include the numbers):
    1. Dominican University of California
    2. San Rafael, CA
    3. Your graduation year (e.g. 2022)

Tutorial

Google Docs
MS Word

You automatically own the copyright to your work and no one may legally copy any part of it without your permission.   You also may choose to use a Creative Commons copyright to give readers more flexibility with what they can do with your manuscript or sections of your manuscript.  If you have questions about copyright options please contact The Scholarly Communications Librarian

Special Formatting

  • The copyright statement appears centered and at the top of the page

Additional Information

  • Use the following statement, replacing the brackets with the appropriate information
    Copyright © [author's name] [year of publication]. All rights reserved.

Abstract

The Abstract states the purpose, design, and results of the research or a description of your project;

Acknowledgements

An acknowledgments page includes a short paragraph acknowledging those people who helped and supported you through the manuscript process. People have included instructors, advisors, parents, siblings, significant others, pets, etc.

Length of Abstract and Acknowledgements Pages

Both the Abstract and Acknowledgments are double-spacedd and should be short and concise and not to exceed 1 page.

Your manuscript must include a Table of Contents listing all major headings that appear including the Abstract, Acknowledgements, List of Tables, and List of Figures.

Page numbers listed in the table of contents correspond with the material presented in your manuscript. If you are asked to make revisions within your manuscript, make sure to check that the page numbers listed in the Table of Contents, List of Tables, and List of Figures are still correct.  Any headings, subheadings, or captions listed in the front matter must match exactly with those that appear within the manuscript.

Tutorials

Google Docs

MS Word

  • If you have any tables in your manuscript you must include a List of Tables on it's own page after the Table of Contents
  • The List of Tables includes each table (even if there is only one) listed sequentially as they appear in your paper
  • Each item in the List includes the table number and a short description (usually the whole or a portion of the table caption) and the page number on which the table appears.

Tutorial

Google Docs
MS Word
NOTE: It is suggested that you use MS Word to create your Table and Figure Captions and your Lists of Tables and Figures. 
  • The List of Figures includes each figure (even if there is only one) listed sequentially as they appear in your paper.
  • Each item in the List of Figures includes the figure number and a short description (usually the whole or a portion of the table caption) and the page number on which it appears.

Tutorial

Google Docs
MS Word
NOTE: It is suggested that you use MS Word to create your Table and Figure Captions and your Lists of Tables and Figures. 

The body of your thesis is the main portion of your manuscript. Follow the general formatting as described under the General Formatting tab

IMPORTANT! The Guidelines take precedence over other style guides or department handbooks and example theses provided to you by your instructor. If there seems to be a serious conflict, check with the Library and have your manuscript advisors do the same.

Manuscript front matter, margin, pagination, and document structure requirements are specified throughout this guide, and must be observed as stated, no matter what other guidelines dictate. Remaining format issues are governed by standard publication manuals and/or standards of publication in your discipline.

  • The References, Works Cited, or Bibliography heading is a major heading and the formatting should be the same as other major headings in the manuscript
  • Use most appropriate citation style for your discipline (APA, Chicago, or MLA). Include hanging indents if that is indicated for your style
  • If you are using a citation tool, such as RefWorks, it is the author's responsibility to make sure that citations are correct including fixing typos and capitalization when needed.

Online Tools

  • An appendix should be introduced with a cover page bearing only the title of the appendix centered and 1" from the top of the page. 
  • The content of the appendix begins on the next page with the standard margins.
  • Table and figures in appendices should be captioned and continue the numbering sequence used in the text
  • If you applied for an IRB number include your IRB acceptance letter as your last appendix