Skip to main content

Database Permissions

Linking to Articles and Books in the Databases

Using this Guide

Linking to an article in the databases is the preferred over uploading the full-text to Moodle, in that it's more copyright friendly. Most databases allow this but how to do it varies from database to database.

Below, find the name of the database from which you have an article that you want to link to and follow the instructions, often, it takes 2 steps:


1. Finding the Permanent Link to the Article

Sometimes, when you find an article in the databases, the URL in your browser is good for the session only (i.e. it won't work after a short period of time, usually 30 minutes or so). That's a problem if your students want to access the article later in the semester. The Permanent link (AKA PermaLink, Stable Link, Persistent Link) is the link to the article that is persistent over time. It shouldn't change and it should work later when your students need to get to the article.

2. Prepend the Link with The Proxy Link

Once you have the Permanent link you need to make it accessible to students off-campus; the proxy allows this to happen. The proxy allows one to access the databases from off-campus by validating that they are a current student or employee of the University. Some databases add the proxy link to the permanent link while others don't.

The proxy URL: https://dominican.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

ABI/Inform

  1. From the results list of your search, click on the title of your article
  2. Click on the Abstract/Details tab
  3. Scroll down the page until you see Document URL
  4. Copy that URL. It already contains the proxy URL so there is no need to add it.

Example URL: https://dominican.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/232343683?accountid=25281

AccessMedicine and AccessScience

Copy the URL from your browser and prepend it with the proxy URL.
 
Original URL for the Image: http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/multimedia.aspx#52144548
With Proxy URL: https://dominican.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://accessmedicine.mhmedical.com/multimedia.aspx#52144548

ArtSTOR

  1. From the results list of your search, click on the image that you want
  2. Click on the Links tab
  3. Copy the link and prepend with the proxy URL
Original URL for the Image: http://library.artstor.org/asset/ARTSTOR_103_41822001281052
With Proxy URL: https://dominican.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://library.artstor.org/asset/ARTSTOR_103_41822001281052

Cambridge Histories

  1. From the results list of your search, click on the book title that you would like to use
  2. Copy the URL from your browser
Original URL for the Article: https://www.cambridge.org/core/books/cambridge-history-of-philosophy-in-the-nineteenth-century-17901870/D041DBFA15E1E761C4A0805E98C3CB72
With Proxy URL: https://dominican.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.cambridge.org/core/books/cambridge-history-of-philosophy-in-the-nineteenth-century-17901870/D041DBFA15E1E761C4A0805E98C3CB72

The Chronicle of Higher Education

Copy the URL from your browser and prepend it with the proxy URL.
 
Original URL for the Image: https://www.chronicle.com/article/Outlook-for-Higher-Ed-in-2018/242319?cid=wcontentlist_hp_latest
With Proxy URL: https://dominican.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.chronicle.com/article/Outlook-for-Higher-Ed-in-2018/242319?cid=wcontentlist_hp_latest

CountryWatch

Copy the URL from your browser and prepend it with the proxy URL.

Original URL for the Article: http://www.countrywatch.com/Intelligence/CountryReviews?CountryId=26
With Proxy URL: https://dominican.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.countrywatch.com/Intelligence/CountryReviews?CountryId=26

Economist Intelligence Unit

Copy the URL from your browser and prepend it with the proxy URL.

Original URL for the Article: http://country.eiu.com/China
With Proxy URL: https://dominican.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://country.eiu.com/China

eBook Central

Linking to an entire book

  1. From the search results list choose the title that you want to link to
  2. Look for the link titled Share Link to Book
  3. Copy the URL and share it as is
Original URL for the book:  https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/dominicanuc-ebooks/detail.action?docID=3134528&query=copyright
   

Linking to a Particular Start Page

  1. From the search results list choose the title that you want to link to
  2. Click on the title and then choose a chapter from the table of contents or navigate to a particular page
  3. From the menu at the top of your screen click on the Link Icon
  4. Copy the URL provided and share it as is.
Original URL for the book:  https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/dominicanuc-ebooks/reader.action?ppg=71&docID=3134528&tm=1515709051950
   

EBSCO Databases

Currently we have 27 databases from EBSCO. Because EBSCO hosts journals from various publishers, each journal has it's own rules about persistent links. For the most part linking is encouraged, but be sure to check with the journal.

To check on a particular journal's permissions:

Do your search within the chosen database
From the results list, choose the article that you're interested in and click on the title
You should be taken to a page with detailed information about the article
If there are restrictions, that information should appear at the bottom of the screen.

For example, the Harvard Business Review, found in the database Business Source Complete, you'll see the following at bottom of the details page:

Harvard Business Review Notice of Use Restrictions, May 2009Harvard Business Review and Harvard Business Publishing Newsletter content on EBSCOhost is licensed for the private individual use of authorized EBSCOhost users. It is not intended for use as assigned course material in academic institutions nor as corporate learning or training materials in businesses. Academic licensees may not use this content in electronic reserves, electronic course packs, persistent linking from syllabi or by any other means of incorporating the content into course resources. Business licensees may not host this content on learning management systems or use persistent linking or other means to incorporate the content into learning management systems. Harvard Business Publishing will be pleased to grant permission to make this content available through such means. For rates and permission, contact permissions@harvardbusiness.org.

This is a rare and extreme case of restrictions and is not the norm.

To link to an article

  1. Do your search within the chosen database
  2. From the results list, choose the article that you're interested in and click on the title
  3. You should be taken to a page with detailed information about the article
  4. On the right side of your screen look for the Tools menu
  5. From the Tools menu choose Permalink (aka permanent link)
  6. The permalink should show up above the title of the article. The permalink will automatically be prepended with the proxy URL.

Example URL: https://dominican.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=126526043&site=ehost-live

 

Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Database

  1. From the results list of your search, click on the title of your article
  2. Click on the Abstract/Details tab
  3. Scroll down the page until you see Document URL
  4. Copy that URL. It already contains the proxy URL so there is no need to add it.

Example URL: https://dominican.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/232343683?accountid=25281

Wiley Online Library

Copy the URL from your browser and prepend it with the proxy URL.

Original URL for the Article: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/1098-2779(2000)6:2%3C96::AID-MRDD3%3E3.0.CO;2-H/full
With Proxy URL: https://dominican.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1002/1098-2779(2000)6:2%3C96::AID-MRDD3%3E3.0.CO;2-H/full

Sage Journals

Copy the URL from your browser and prepend it with the proxy URL.

Original URL for the Article: http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/10.1111/1467-9256.12077
With Proxy URL: https://dominican.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/10.1111/1467-9256.12077

SpringerLink

Copy the URL from your browser and prepend it with the proxy URL.

Original URL for the Article: https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s12311-015-0659-7
With Proxy URL: https://dominican.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s12311-015-0659-7
Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License