Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books to Check Out
The following print books related to the subject matter of ENGL 3089/5089 are available in our circulating collection. They represent only a small portion of the titles in our collection related to this course, so please explore the catalog in greater depth by using keyword and subject searches. When you find one of these titles on the shelf, remember that books of similar subject content will be found nearby.
Also, don't forget to consult our many ebooks on this topic. We have almost twice as many electronic books in our collection as we do print titles.
Call Number: Dominican General Collection: PR2894 .A24 2005
Publication Date: 2005-10-25
Biographer and novelist Ackroyd brings William Shakespeare to life in the manner of a contemporary rather than a biographer. His method is to position the playwright in the context of his world, exploring everything from Stratford's humble town to its fields of wildflowers; discerning influences on the plays from unexpected quarters; and entering London with the playwright as modern theatre, as we know it, is just beginning to emerge. Writing as though we are observing Shakespeare and his circle of friends, patrons, managers, and fellow actors and writers, Ackroyd is able to see Shakespeare's genius from within, so we feel that Ackroyd the writer merges with Shakespeare the writer, the poet, the man; and thus with great sympathy and clarity we experience the way in which Shakespeare worked.--From publisher description.
A Will to Believe by
Call Number: Leisure Collection: PR3011 .K37 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-09
"On 19 December 1601, John Croke, then Speaker of the House of Commons, addressed his colleagues: "If a question should be asked, What is the first and chief thing in a Commonwealth to be regarded? I should say, religion. If, What is the second? I should say, religion. If, What the third? I should still say, religion." But if religion was recognized as the "chief thing in a Commonwealth," we have been less certain what it does in Shakespeare's plays. Written and performed in a culture in which religion was indeed inescapable, the plays have usually been seen either as evidence of Shakespeare's own disinterested secularism or, more recently, as coded signposts to his own sectarian commitments. Based upon the inaugural series of the Oxford-Wells Shakespeare Lectures in 2008, A Will to Believe offers a thoughtful, surprising, and often moving consideration of how religion actually functions in them: not as keys to Shakespeare's own faith but as remarkably sensitive registers of the various ways in which religion charged the world in which he lived. The book shows what we know and can't know about Shakespeare's own beliefs, and demonstrates, in a series of wonderfully alert and agile readings, how the often fraught and vertiginous religious environment of Post-Reformation England gets refracted by the lens of Shakespeare's imagination."
Why Lyrics Last by
Call Number: PR2848 .B69 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-05
Ideas of Order by
Call Number: PR2848 .R83 2014
Publication Date: 2014-11-18
"An approachable and indispensable guide to Shakespeare's sonnets Shakespeare's sonnets are the greatest single work of lyric poetry in English, as passionate, daring, intimate, and moving as any love poems we may encounter. And yet, they are often misunderstood--as W.H. Auden remarked, "more nonsense has been talked and written, more intellectual and emotional energy expended in vain, on the sonnets of Shakespeare.
Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Sonnets by
Call Number: PR2848.A2 S35 2014
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
"The Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Sonnets offers a collection of new essays on the Sonnets written by William Shakespeare, the most famous English playwright of all time. A basic part of the literature curriculum, Shakespeare's works-still being introduced to students, from high school through college, four centuries after their composition-have never lost their popularity. Each essay in The Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Sonnets is devoted to a single sonnet and provides an in-depth critical analysis of the sonnet's historical significance, literary technique and discusses its meaning to a contemporary audience. The themes put forward in Shakespeare's Sonnets, written over 400 years ago, still hold value, meaning and significance to today's audience. Some of the themes discussed in these Sonnets include: beauty, eternity, time's destructiveness, sexuality, gender, love, depression, sorrow, memory, alienation, grieving, love as slavery, seasons and age, time, absence, love as strength, eternal youth, fidelity, true love, lust, truth, and body vs. soul."
Shakespeare's Freedom by
Call Number: PR2976 .G73 2010
Publication Date: 2010-11-15
Shakespeare lived in a world of absolutes, of claims for the absolute authority of scripture, monarch, and God, and the authority of fathers over wives and children, the old over the young, and the gentle over the baseborn. The author shows that Shakespeare was strikingly averse to such absolutes and constantly probed the possibility of freedom from them. Again and again, Shakespeare confounds the designs and pretensions of kings, generals, and churchmen. His aversion to absolutes even leads him to probe the exalted and seemingly limitless passions of his lovers. The author explores this rich theme by addressing four of Shakespeare's preoccupations across all the genres in which he worked.
Shakespeare, Dissent and the Cold War by
Call Number: PR3017 .T48 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-22
Shakespeare, Dissent and the Cold War is the first book to read Shakespeare's drama through the lens of Cold War politics. The book uses the Cold War experience of dissenting artists in theatre and film to highlight the coded religio-political subtexts in Hamlet, King Lear, Macbeth and The Winter's Tale.
A Thousand Times More Fair by
Call Number: PR3028 .Y67 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-12
Looks at the roles of justice and law in the lives of modern-day people through the lens of Shakespeare's plays.
Very Short Introductions
"Very Short Introductions" published by Oxford University Press are excellent brief overviews of a variety of subjects. Listed here are titles related to ENGL 3089/5089. NOTE that all titles in this series are located in the Leisure Collection in the Rosenberg Reading Room.
Classical Mythology by
Call Number: Dominican Leisure Reading: BL723 .M67 2007
Publication Date: 2007-11-09
The Reformation by
Call Number: Dominican Leisure Reading: BR305.3 .M37 2009
Publication Date: 2009-11-23
The Renaissance by
Call Number: Dominican Leisure Reading: CB361 .B767 2005
Publication Date: 2006-06-15
Renaissance Art by
Call Number: Dominican Leisure Reading: N6370 .J64 2005
Publication Date: 2005-07-28
Classical Literature by
Call Number: Dominican Leisure Reading: PA3001 .A44 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
Call Number: Dominican Leisure Reading: PN1922 .B48 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-07
Shakespeare Plays in DVD in Library Collection
Library of Congress Subject Headings
When searching Dominican's online catalog for books about Children's Literature, begin by using the following Library of Congress Subject Headings. Subject headings will do much of your work for you because they classify titles that are related topically under the same heading. Since you can approach this or any other topic from numerous vantage points, you'll also be able to glean additional LC subject headings from the catalog records of featured books provided in the column to the left of this box. But you don't need to limit yourself to subject headings. You can also combine keywords that may retrieve other resources. For example, by combining "children" and "psychology" in a keyword search, you may find materials you might otherwise have missed using a more narrowly focused subject search. Try it and see. Finding such titles, of course, will also lead you to new subject headings you might not have thought of using before. Play with the system in creative ways and it will work for you!
- Shakespeare, William -- 1564-1616
- English drama -- Early modern and Elizabethan
- English drama -- 17th century
- Animals in literature
- Animals in art
- Illumination of books and manuscripts -- History
Renaissance Reference Works
The following reference titles are available in our Reference Collection. They will provide you with quick facts about Shakespeare's life and work as well as broader historical context to deepen your understanding of the age in which he lived.
Google Book Search
Search Google Books to find a book. Books may be entirely, partially, or not available for searching or reading.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License