Skip to main content

Dominican University of California Archives: Policies & Procedures

ACCESS & USE

Access to the Archives is available to Dominican University faculty, staff, students as well as alumni and public researchers. Access is by appointment only. Please contact the Archivist to set up an appointment.

Archives and Special Collections materials do not circulate and are to be used only in designated research areas.

DONATE & TRANSFER

Gifts and donations to the Archives are welcomed, but we will not appraise the value of donated materials and reserve the right to determine whether donated materials will be accessioned into the collection.

If applicable, the Archives will provide a copy of a signed deed of gift.

Contact the Archivist to arrange for gifts and donations. Depending on the size of the gift or donation, a Vice President, the President, or other University staff may become involved in the acceptance of gifts or donations.


University offices that are transferring materials to the archives, please follow these guidelines:

  • Contact the Archivist before discarding any files and materials
  • Please keep files and materials in their original order
  • Include a box or inventory list
  • The Archivist will then survey the materials for accession
  • Once materials are accessioned administrative custody of the materials will be transferred to the Archives

 

RESEARCH AREA RULES

  • No food, drink, or gum is allowed while using archival material.
  • Leave coats, purses, book bags, backpacks, and other personal items with research area staff. 
  • Use pencils only for note taking. Laptops are permitted.
  • Cameras without flash are allowed for personal research purposes, excluding any restricted materials.
  • Maintain the original order and arrangement of materials.
  • Marking, folding, or removing any archival material is not allowed.
  • Cotton gloves (provided) are required when handling photographs.
  • All photocopies and scans must be completed by staff.
  • Return material to its container and check out with the archivist.

 

CITATIONS

Requesting and examining materials or making copies does not constitute authorization to publish. A separate written request to publish must be sent to the Archivist.

In all cases publication or display of archival materials must be credited as, Dominican University of California Archives, Photograph Collection or Dominican University of California Archives, Publications etc. based on the collection being used.

For citations in published or unpublished papers, the Archives & Special Collections repository should be cited as, Dominican University of California Archives, San Rafael, CA.

‚Äč

 

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License