Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Encyclopedias and Web Resources
Free access to millions of topics from the world's leading publishers.
A free online library of encyclopedic materials.
European History Primary Sources EHPS
An index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe. Each website that is listed in EHPS has a short description and is categorized according to country, language, period, subject and type of source.
glbqt: Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture
This is an online encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture, focusing on topics in arts, literature, and social science. Entries include contributor information, links to related entries, and bibliographies. The site also incl
International Encyclopedia of Dance
With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
ipl2: Librarians' Index to the Internet
ipl2 provides online links to "Information that you can trust". Vetted by librarians across the country, these authoratative Web resources are considered the best the open Web has to offer.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is the definitive reference work in the field.
A general reference site with searchable dictionaries, thesauri, almanacs, atlases, etc.
Offering very scholarly articles on very complex subjects, Scholarpedia improves on the anyone-can-edit idea of Wikipedia by making sure that the original author of all of its articles is an expert on the subject and that each article is peer-reviewed.
World Digital Library
Developed by the US Library of Congress, UNESCO, and partnering with national libraries from around the world. This site collects cultural treasures from around the world including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, photographs, architectural drawings, and more.
Science encyclopedia with related images and videos, and biographies.
Multidisciplinary reference articles from trusted encyclopedias, biographies, dictionaries, and more.
Encyclopaedia of Judaica
More than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
Gale's Virtual Reference Library
Multidisciplinary encyclopedia articles.
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Prized for its scholarly presentation of persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities, the Encyclopedia is the first place you turn when you have questions on topics such as abortion, divorce, cloning and reproductive technology.
Encyclopedias in Our Library
The encyclopedias listed here are only a sampling of encyclopedias in our Library. Those designated with Ref are downstairs on the Reference shelf, the rest are upstairs in the General Collection.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License