Skip to main content

@ The Library

50 New recordings added to the Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature

by Michael Pujals on 2018-04-16T10:16:00-07:00 in Research Tools | Comments

Although it's not a "New Tool", the Library of Congress' Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature has added 50 new recordings to it's collection: The Library describes the collection as:

Listen to audio-recorded readings of former Consultants in Poetry Elizabeth Bishop, Gwendolyn Brooks and Robert Frost; Nobel Laureates Mario Vargas Llosa and Czeslaw Milosz, and renowned writers such as Ray Bradbury, Margaret Atwood, and Kurt Vonnegut read from their work at the Library of Congress.

The Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature at the Library of Congress dates back to 1943, when Allen Tate was Consultant in Poetry. It contains nearly two thousand recordings—of poets and prose writers participating in literary events at the Library’s Capitol Hill campus as well as sessions at the Library’s Recording Laboratory.

Most of these recordings are captured on magnetic tape reels, and only accessible at the Library itself. In digitizing the archive and presenting it online, the Library hopes to greatly broaden its use and value. The material featured on this online presentation represents a sample of this collection. The site will continue to provide additional items from this archive on a monthly basis over the next several years.

Wendi Maloney, writes on the LC Blog:

As of this week, you can now stream previously undigitized recordings featuring poets laureate Robert HaydenMaxine KuminMark StrandGwendolyn BrooksRobert PinskyJames MerrillJames DickeyJoseph BrodskyRichard WilburRobert HassStephen SpenderCharles SimicJosephine JacobsenAnthony Hecht and Howard Nemerov.

Go to the Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...
Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License