Skip to main content

@ The Library

Iceberg for Moodle

by Michael Pujals on 2018-08-22T11:31:00-07:00 in Moodle, Using the Databases, Library Tools and Tutorials | Comments
Over the summer, the Library invested in a new tool that should make adding articles from the Library's databases to Moodle a little bit easier; we're calling it Iceberg for Moodle.
 
If you're not familiar with Iceberg, it's a meta-database, i.e. it's a database that allows you and your students to search multiple databases, that we subscribe to, at one time. Rather than search for an article database by database, you can do one search in Iceberg. (NOTE: it doesn't search everything).
 
Before, with Moodle, to add in an article you had to either:
  1. download the full-text of the article and upload to Moodle while risking copyright violations
  2. copy and paste the link to the article into Moodle, hoping that you're grabbing the right link.
Iceberg for Moodle allows you to search Iceberg directly from Moodleselect articles to add to a class reading list and link directly to the articles. You can also add in web links and notes. It reduces your risk of copyright violations by uses the correct link.
 
We've put together a step-by-step tutorial for you. Check out the tutorial; if you have questions or need help feel free to contact Michael Pujals at michael.pujals@dominican.edu
 
NOTE:  This is a tool administered by the Library; IT will not be able to support you with Iceberg for Moodle.

 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...
Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License