Databases  Tags: databases electronic_journals research online_research  

Electronic journal databases allow you to search any of 40,000+ journals for full-text articles.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.dominican.edu/databases  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases by Title             Print Page
  
 

Quick Reference

 

Quick Lit Reference

 

Databases on Your Mobile Device

You can now access EBSCOhost databases through your mobile devices (iPhone, Blackberry, Android, Palm Preo, etc.).  You can either click on the link in the previous sentence or use:http://ezproxy.dominican.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip&profile=ducmobile

Actually I would copy this ugly link and email it to your mobile device and open it from there.  Once you have it opened you should be able to bookmark it.

Some of the databases that you'll be able to access are:

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Business Source Complete
  • CINAHL
  • ERIC
  • GreenFile
  • HealthSource
  • PsycInfo
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook
  • Tests in Print
  • and many more
 

Databases A-Z

A| B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | W

Click on the "Databases by Subject" tab to find even more resources related to your discipline.

  • ABI/Inform   
      
    Includes in-depth coverage for over 1,800 business publications. Users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with almost 6,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,030 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887.
  • AccessScience  
      
    Full text of the acclaimed McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology, videos, images and more.
  • Alt-HealthWatch  
      
    Alternative, complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
  • American History in Video  
      
    American History in Video provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of American history. This collection includes documentaries and series from The History Channel®, A&E Network®, and Biography®.
  • ArchiveGrid  
      
    Libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
  • ArticleFirst  
      
    (Not Full Text) Table of contents index to articles on various topics.
  • ARTstor  
      
    Database of nearly one million art images ranging from painting to sculpture to architecture to photography, and beyond.
  • BioMed Central   
      
    Access to over 200 free peer-reviewed open-access journals in biomedical research (Requires FREE registration).
  • Books in Print  
      
    (Not Full Text) This database contains bibliographic information about books in print, audio books and videos.
  • BuildingGreen  
      
    Accurate, unbiased, and timely information designed to help building-industry professionals and policy makers improve the environmental performance, and reduce the adverse impacts, of buildings
  • Business Source Complete  
      
    Full text of over 4,000 electronic journals. An excellent starting point for any search for business information.
  • Cambridge Histories   
      
    24 hour access to the renown Cambridge Histories. The Histories are comprised of scholarly articles covering topics such as American history, philosophy, music, politics, economic history and more.
  • Camio  
      
    A growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text  
      
    Search journal articles, books, standards of professional practice, dissertations, and reports. This database contains evidence-based care information, continuing education modules, research instruments, and consumer health information.
  • Communications and Mass Media Complete  
      
    This database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 420 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 301 journals.
  • Contemporary Women's Issues  
      
    Articles on women's health and human rights.
  • Counseling and Therapy in Video  
      
    The largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling.
  • CountryWatch  
      
    A statistics, business, geopolitical resource for 192 countries of the world .
  • CQ Researcher  
      
    n-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year.
  • Dance in Video   
      
    Documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals  
      
    This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. There are over 3,700 journals in the directory.
  • Dissertation Abstracts  
      
    (Not Full Text) Abstracts of dissertations on various topics.
  • Education Research Complete   
      
    Covers scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, including: K-12 and higher education, multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
  • EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)  
      
    Country reports covering over 200 countries updated monthly. These reports cover domestic politics, economic analysis, foreign trade, International relations, projected economic growth and daily business intelligence and summary analysis.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica  
      
    Full text of the encyclopedia online.
  • Encyclopedia of Environment and Society  
      
    Includes a vast range of different types of entries, including key individuals, polices, problems, processes, and theoretical concepts that sit astride what has traditionally been known as “society” and the “environment."
  • Encyclopedia of Judaica  
      
    Included are more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
  • Environment Complete  
      
    Nearly 700 full text journals in the fields of environmental science, sustainable business, environmental management and policy.
  • ERIC  
      
    Provides access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text.
  • ERIC Education  
      
    (Web Version) Provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text.
  • First Research   
      
    Reports covering more than 700 industries. Reports cover industry overviews, recent developments, business challenges, trends and opportunities, financial information
    and industry forecast and rating.
  • Freehand Music  
      
    Online database of sheet music.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library   
      
    Over 300 full text reference books in various subjects.
  • GreenFILE  
      
    Focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
  • Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition   
      
    Over 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on nursing and other medical disciplines. Includes Lexi-Pals Patient Drug Advisory.
  • Health Source: Consumer Information  
      
    Full text collection of consumer health information.
  • Humanities International Complete  
      
    Includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,000 journals and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for nearly 1,000 journals.
  • International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance   
      
    Contains more than 450 full-text titles, including more than 140 full-text journals and more than 300 full-text books & monographs.
  • International Encyclopedia of Dance  
      
    The full spectrum of dance—theatrical, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
  • JSTOR   
      
    Full text of nearly 1,200 scholarly journals back to their first issue. Offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.
  • LexisNexis Academic   
      
    Articles and documents, news, business and legal information.
  • LexisNexis Congressional  
      
    Legislation, Congressional records, Congressional committees, and political news.
  • LISTA  
      
    (Not Full Text) Library, information science and technology abstracts.
  • Literature Resource Center  
      
    Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
  • LitFinder  
      
    Contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
  • Medline   
      
    (Not Full Text) Index to medical literature, created by the National Library of Medicine.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook  
      
    A comprehensive guide to over 2,000 commercially available testing instruments in English within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 (1985) to the present.
  • Nature   
      
    (2005 to present) - The premier journal of peer-reviewed science articles covering chemistry, clinical practice and research sciences, Earth and the environment, life sciences, and physical sciences.
  • Naxos Classical Music Library  
      
    Online database of more than 15,000 classical music recordings including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. NOTE: usage is limited. You MUST log out when finished.
  • Naxos Jazz Music Library  
      
    Online database of jazz music recordings. NOTE: usage is limited. You MUST log out when finished.
  • New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed.  
      
    An electronic version of the New Catholic Encyclopedia that includes the Jubilee Supplement
  • Newspaper Source  
      
    Provides full text for nearly 400 nationwide newspapers.
  • Open Access Journals in Education   
      
    250 open-access full text journals in education, organized by the American Educational Research Association Special Interest Group.
  • OT Search  
      
    (Not Full Text) Index to articles and books in occupational therapy.
  • Oxford Journals Online  
      
    231 academic and research journals covering subjects in the Humanities, Law, Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, and Social Sciences.
  • PapersFirst   
      
    (Not Full Text) Index covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Center.
  • ProceedingsFirst  
      
    (Not Full Text) Index covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Center. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference.
  • ProQuest Nursing Journals  
      
    Full text of over 650 journals in nursing and allied health.
  • PsychInfo  
      
    Psychology articles and books, mostly citations and abstracts, APA journals in full text. Provides direct links from citations to content in all EBSCO databases.
  • Public Library of Science  
      
    Six full text open-access journals in biology, clinical trials, computational biology, genetics, medicine and pathogens.
  • PubMed  
      
    Index provided by the National Library of Medicine with access to over 12 million citations back to the mid-1960's. Note: You must use this link in order to take advantage of direct links to Dominican content.
  • RAND California   
      
    California statistics relating to demographics, business and economics, health, politics, energy and environment, education and more.
  • Reference USA  
      
    Data on U.S and International companies, industry reports, business journal articles, company executive information, neighborhood searches of businesses, company financials, and much more.
  • RefWorks  
      
    An online citation manager. Organize, search, share your citations and access them from any computer with an Internet connection. Create bibliographies in APA, MLA, Turabian, or in any of 800 styles. Keep your research organized and avoid plagiarism.
  • Regional Business News  
      
    Provides comprehensive full text coverage for over 100 regional business publications.
  • Sage Journals   
      
    Over 460 full text journals (since 1999) in various fields, including psychology, nursing and education.
  • Science Magazine  
      
    The world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary.
  • ScienceDirect: Health and Biological Sciences  
      
    Biology and health science college edition - full text scholarly journal articles in the sciences. This database ALSO includes ScienceDirect social and behavioral sciences college edition. Nearly 1,300 titles.
  • SocINDEX  
      
    Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, substance abuse, violence and much more.
  • Tests in Print   
      
    A comprehensive bibliography of all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language. TIP also guides readers to critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook series.
  • Theatre in Video  
      
    This database contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video.
  • Wilson OmniFile Select   
      
    A multidisciplinary, 100% full text database that provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles from over 2,500 magazines and journals dating back to January 1994.
  • Women and Social Movements  
      
    Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women's activism in public life.
  • World Almanac  
      
    Biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics.
  • WorldCat  
      
    (Not Full Text) FirstSearch database version provides a more in-depth search of the OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
  • WorldCat Dissertations  
      
    (Not Full Text) Catalog of dissertations and theses in libraries worldwide.
 

Ask a Librarian

Profile ImageReference Desk


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Telephone: 415.485.3252
Send Email

My Reference Desk Schedule
M-Th 10am-12pm and 1pm-9pm
F 10am-12pm and 1pm-5pm
Sat 12pm-4pm
Sun 2pm-6pm

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait