Election 2012 Updates
Track the ongoing excitement and political education of the 2012 election cycle available through these major news outlets. Check the factual accuracy of candidates' statements on the highly respected public service site, Factcheck.
- ABC Election 2012 Coverage
- CNN Election 2012 Coverage
- FactcheckFactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. It is a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
- FOX Election 2012 Coverage
- MSNBC Election 2012 Coverage
- National Journal Election 2012 Coverage
- New York Times Election 2012 Coverage
- NPR (National Public Radio) Election 2012 Coverage
- Politico Election 2012 Coverage
- PolitifactPolitiFact.com is a project of the Tampa Bay Times to help you find the truth in Washington and the Obama presidency. It won the Pulitzer Prize for political reporting in 2009.
- Roll Call Election 2012 CoverageRoll Call is the newspaper of Capitol Hill since 1955. It will be especially good at covering congressional elections in November 2012.
- The U.S. Election Live on YouTubeToday we’re introducing the YouTube Elections Hub, a one-stop channel for key political moments from now through the upcoming U.S. election day on November 6. You can watch all of the live speeches from the floor of the upcoming Republican and Democratic National Conventions, see Google+ Hangouts with power brokers behind the scenes, and watch a live stream of the official Presidential and Vice Presidential debates. You won’t need to go anywhere else for the must-watch moments of this election cycle...they’re all happening on the Hub live.
In addition to videos from politicians and parties, a diverse range of news organizations—both established names in media and sought-after new voices—are sharing their coverage of the political process on the new hub. You’ll find live and on-demand reporting and analysis from ABC News, Al Jazeera English, BuzzFeed, Larry King, The New York Times, Phil DeFranco, Univision and the Wall Street Journal. - Washington Post Election 2012 Coverage
Upcoming Workshops
Watch this guide for upcoming workshops.
Have a suggestion for a Library Workshop? Are there databases you that you want to know more about? Are you curious about web-based tools that you can use for school or work?
-
Tuesday, Apr 30, 2013: RefWorks WorkshopWhen: 12pm - 1pm
Where: Library 222
Learn how to create and manage your citations and bibliographies easily
U.S. Election Coverage
- U.S. Election Coverage, Live on YouTubeToday we’re introducing the YouTube Elections Hub, a one-stop channel for key political moments from now through the upcoming U.S. election day on November 6. You can watch all of the live speeches from the floor of the upcoming Republican and Democratic National Conventions, see Google+ Hangouts with power brokers behind the scenes, and watch a live stream of the official Presidential and Vice Presidential debates. You won’t need to go anywhere else for the must-watch moments of this election cycle...they’re all happening on the Hub live.
In addition to videos from politicians and parties, a diverse range of news organizations—both established names in media and sought-after new voices—are sharing their coverage of the political process on the new hub. You’ll find live and on-demand reporting and analysis from ABC News, Al Jazeera English, BuzzFeed, Larry King, The New York Times, Phil DeFranco, Univision and the Wall Street Journal. - Free Journal Coverage of Election IssuesOn Tuesday 6th November 2012 the American people will be casting their votes to elect the next President of the United States. Will the incumbent President Barack Obama (Democratic) be re-elected for a second term, or will his main rival Mitt Romney (Republican) become the 45th President of the United States?
Routledge has put together a collection of journal articles on a selection of key themes, considering the presidential candidates, the main election issues and the broader political impact of these elections.
2012 Economic Indicators
- President's Economic Report to Congress, 2012The Economic Report of the President has been prepared annually by the Council of Economic Advisers since 1947. The theme of this year’s Economic Report of the President is “To Recover, Rebalance, and Rebuild.” In 2011, the Nation continued to recover from the Great Recession and to make progress toward building a stronger foundation for more balanced and sustainable economic growth in the future." (Preface to the Report.)
- The Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)The EIU provides current and historical information on a variety of issues related to the politics and economic indicators of the world's countries.
For economic data, such as GDP, go to "ViewWires" under "Reports and Services." - The Statistical Abstract of the United States, 2012 (The National Data Book)The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.
NEW! iPad App for NY Times Election 2012
News, opinion, polls and live election night results.
From The Times and other top sources around the Web.
It’s the best campaign coverage anywhere, all in one app.
State of the Union Address and the Republican Response, 1/24/2012
View or read President Obama's State of the Union Address and the Republican response, 1/24/2012.
- State of the Union Address, 1/24/2012
- Republican Response to the State of the Union Address, 1/24/2012The Republican response was offered by Mitch Daniels, Governor of Indiana.
Ask the Library
Ask the Library is a service in which you can get many of your questions answered immediately.
If you don't see an answer to your question, submit it and a librarian will get back to you as soon as possible.
Reference Desk Information
| Staffed Hours | Contact Information | ||||||||||||||
|
|
President Obama's Weekly Address and Speeches
Loading...
Library Liaison Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
