Skip to main content

Library Reference - Quick Help: Home

This guide will help you in topic formulation, how to write a thesis statement, and refer you to print and online resources for beginning your research and gathering quick facts and statistics.

Call Number Areas by Subject

A - General Works

   AE - Encyclopedias

   AG - Dictionaries

   AZ - History of scholarship. Humanities

B - Philosophy/Psychology/Religion

   B - Philosophy (general)

   BF - Psychology

   BJ - Ethics

   BL - Religion, Mythology

   BM - Judaism

   BP - Islam

   BR - Christianity

   BS - The Bible

C - Auxiliary Sciences of History

   CB – History of Civilization   

   CC - Archaeology

   CS - Genealogy

   CT - Biography

D - History: World

   DA - Great Britain

   DC - France

   DD - Germany

   DF - Greece

   DG - Italy

   DK - Russia

   DP - Spain

   DS - Asia

   DT - Africa

E – History of the Americas

   E11-143 - America

   E151-904 - United States

F – History of the Americas

   F1-975 - United States local history

   F1201-3799 - Latin America

G - Geography/Anthropology/Recreation

   G - Geography, Atlases and Maps

   GB - Physical Geography

   GE - Environmental Sciences

   GF - Human Ecology

   GR - Folklore

   GV - Sports & Recreation

   GV1580-1799 - Dance

H - Social sciences

   HA - Statistics

   HB - Economics

   HD - Industry & Labor

   HF - Commerce

   HG - Finance

   HJ - Public Finance

   HM - Sociology

J - Political Science

   JA - Political Science general

   JX - International Law

   JZ - International Relations

K – Law general

   KBU - Law, Roman Catholic Church

   KDZ - America

L – Education

   LB - Theory and Practice

M - Music

   M - Music Scores

   ML - Literature of Music

   MT - Instruction

N - Fine Arts

   NA - Architecture

   NC - Drawing, Design

   ND - Painting

P - Language and Literature

   P - Philology-Linguistics

   PA - Classical Languages

   PC - Romance Languages

   PD - Germanic Languages

   PE - English Language

   PN - Literature (General)

   PN1625 - Theatre

   PN1990 - Broadcasting & Film

   PQ - Romance Literatures

   PR - English Literature

   PS - American Literature

   PT - German Literature

   PZ - Children's Literature

Q - Science

   QA - Mathematics

   QA75.5 - Computer Science

   QB - Astronomy

   QC - Physics

   QD - Chemistry

   QE - Geology

   QH - Biology

   QK - Botany

   QL - Zoology

   QP - Physiology

   QR - Microbiology

R – Medicine

   RB - Pathology         

   RC - Internal Medicine

   RJ - Pediatrics

   RS - Pharmacy

   RT - Nursing

S – Agriculture

   SF - Animal Culture

T – Technology

   TA - Engineering general

   TD - Environmental Tecnology

   TH - Building Construction

   TR - Photography

U - Military Science

V - Naval Science

Z – Bibliography, Library Science

Welcome

Welcome to the Ready Reference and Quick Facts Subject Guide.

Reference materials contain quick facts, statistics, short biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and generally quick information to get you started in your exploration of a topic. The purpose of this guide is to provide you with links to Web sites, Library databases, and to a sampling of library books that you can find on our shelves.

If you have any questions regarding the information presented in this guide please feel free to contact the reference desk.  Contact information can be found to the right or you can come and visit us at the reference desk located in the library on the first floor.

Bonnie Groshong

Finding Books in the Library

Books in the library are arranged by call number, which is located on the spine of the book and is unique to each book. Call numbers are arranged alphabetically and then numerically and begin with one or two letters that indicate the subject area of the book (see box to your left for general subject areas). Reference books, located downstairs in the Reference Section, have "Ref" in front of the call number and are for library use only.

General collection material, located on the second floor contains more in-depth information than the Reference collection.  If you find something that is useful in the Reference collection, look for books in the General collection that have a similar call number, or vice versa. 

Please see the column to the left for general subject classifications of call numbers.

        Subject Guide

        Creative Commons License

        This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License