Guides and Tutorials: Graduate Biology: Electronic Sources & Databases

Electronic Books

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Science encyclopedia with related images and videos, and biographies.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary reference articles from trusted encyclopedias, biographies, dictionaries, and more.
eBooks on EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eBooks.
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary eBooks.
Turn on accessibility features and OpenDyslexic typeface in profile settings once you've logged in.

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more.
National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf
Bookshelf provides free access to over 700 texts in life science and healthcare. A vital node in the data-rich resource network at NCBI, Bookshelf enables users to easily browse, retrieve, and read content, and spurs discovery of related information.

Papers and Dissertations

Article & Abstract Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journals and popular magazines.

Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Sytematics
Covers significant developments in the fields of Ecology, Evolutionary Biology, and Systematics, as they apply to all life on Earth.
Annual Review of Genetics
Covers significant developments in the field of genetics. These include biochemical, behavioral, cell, and developmental genetics; evolutionary and population genetics; chromosome structure and transmission; gene function and expression; mutation and repair; genomics; immunogenetics; and other topics as related to the genetics of viruses, bacteria, fungi, plants, and animals, including humans.
Annual Reviews in Biochemistry
The Annual Review of Biochemistry, in publication since 1932, sets the standard for review articles in biological chemistry and molecular biology.
Annual Reviews of Microbiology
Covers significant developments in the field of Microbiology, encompassing bacteria, archaea, viruses, and unicellular eukaryotes.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of academic life science articles. Links to Full-Text articles when available via open access or within Dominican's journal collection.

Calflora
A website you can use to learn about plants that grow wild in California (both native plants and weeds)

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals and magazine articles covering: environmental science, sustainable business, and environmental management and policy.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles, patents, and legal decisions.
Connect Google Scholar to the library's databases but clicking on settings > library links. Type in Dominican University of California. Check off any boxes that come up and save.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Environmental journal and magazine articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary academic journals and primary sources.
OmniFile Select This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal and magazine articles.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Index of bio-medical research.
Using PubMed through the Library's databases enables a link between PubMed and articles in our databases.
RefWorks This link opens in a new window
An online citation manager to organize your research and create bibliographies to help you avoid plagiarism. RefWorks can format in 900+ styles including APA, MLA, Chicago, AMA. Learn more about using RefWorks and what it can do for you.
To use RefWorks you will need to first create an account
1. Follow the link to the RefWorks landing page
2. Look for and select the link at the bottom of the login box titled Create Account
3. Use your Dominican email
4. Create a password and follow any other instructions
Once you've created an account you can log in and start using RefWorks
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal articles.

Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 45 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles covering: physical and biological Sciences, business and economics, education, nursing, psychology, and more.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Chemical and chemical reaction information, molecular structures, abstracts for recent science papers, and more.
You must first register for an account through the SciFinder Registration link
SciFinder Registration This link opens in a new window
Resister for SciFinder

SORA
Searchable Ornithological Research Archive is an open access electronic journal archive and provides access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journals covering: business, health sciences, life Sciences, and more.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary journal articles

Worldwidescience.org
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.

Electronic Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals
Multidisciplinary scholarly articles
JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments - Biological Experiments and Protocols on Video
Biological experiments and protocols on video. An online peer-reviewed journal documenting experiments with video.
Malaria Journal
"Malaria Journal is aimed at the scientific community interested in malaria in its broadest sense". It contains research articles, case studies, reviews, etc.
Nature
(2008-2012)
Scholarly science articles
PLoS Biology
A peer-reviewed journal featuring works of exceptional significance, originality, and relevance in all areas of biological science.
PLoS Computational Biology
A peer-reviewed, open-access journal featuring works of exceptional significance that further our understanding of living systems at all scales through the application of computational methods. It is an official journal of the International Society for Computational Biology.
PLoS Genetics
A peer-reviewed journal that reflecting the full breadth and interdisciplinary nature of genetic and genomic research by publishing outstanding original contributions in all areas of biology.
PLoS Pathogens
A peer-reviewed journal reflecting the full breadth of research about bacteria, fungi, parasites, prions and viruses by publishing outstanding original articles that significantly advance the understanding of pathogens and how they interact with their host organisms.
PNAS
The Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. "PNAS publishes multidisciplinary scientific research, science news, Commentaries, Reviews, Perspectives, Colloquium Papers, and actions of the National Academy of Sciences."